The Stolen Child – Lisa Carey

ISBN; 9781474603805. 10 January 2017. Orion Publishing. With thanks to TBC Reviewers for supplying me with a paperback copy.

St Brigid’s is a remote island off the west coast of Ireland. It is a barren place and its small community is dwindling. But according to rumour it is a magical place, home to a healing well. Two sisters, Rose and Emer, have resisted the call of the mainland. Rose is beautiful, blessed with love and many children. Emer is unlovely and, worse still, she is cursed by the strange currents that run through her fingers. When a dazzling stranger alights on St Brigid’s, she is shunned. She has come in search of a miracle, and the islanders keep their secrets close. But gradually she insinuates her way into the sisters’ lives, and even Emer opens her heart. Little do they realise that her quest will endanger the lives of all who remain on the island. Passion will endanger everything they hold dear.

This Book… What can I say about this book? I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The cover is super pretty. I love the colour yellow and the profile shape made out of bees.

At first glance, this book seemed like one I’d have a love hate relationship with. Based in a world like our own in the late 1950s, I wasn’t sure I’d enjoy it. I almost passed it up completely, but something kept pulling me back and I couldn’t resist taking the risk.

The joining of our world and that of magic is a key, yet subtle combination. I loved being able to read about Irish magic lore without being in a heavily fantasy book. The Stolen Child was devoured in no time at all.

The plot was captivating, although a little slow in places. I loved that it explored different kinds of relationships, such as mother and child, woman and woman and sisters. It was refreshing that the female on female didn’t feel forced in any way, which is very important when introducing characters that are part of the LGBT+ community.  I was heavily invest in the characters and what consequences their actions would leave.

The writing style had an easy and enjoyable flow to it, and even though I’d have normally not enjoyed the odd bit of secondary language, this book worked perfectly with it.

4.5 out of 5 stars.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

