Clover Moon – Jacqueline Wilson

ISBN: 9780857532732. 6th October 2016. Penguin Random House UK Childrens/Doubleday Childrens. With thanks to Netgalley for supplying me with a copy.

Clover Moon’s imagination is her best escape from a life of hardship in poverty-stricken Victorian London. When tragedy plunges her into a world of grief, Clover realizes that everything she loved about the place she called home is gone. Clover hears of a place she could run to, but where will she find the courage – and the chance – to break free? And could leaving her family be just what she needs to find a place that really feels like home?

I’ve been reading Jacqueline Wilson’s books for as long as I can remember. They are always quick reads, great for in between quite heavy books.

Maybe it’s because I’ve gotten a lot older, but I really didn’t enjoy this. I’m not even certain what it is I didn’t like. I just didn’t associate with any of the characters. Although I did appreciate the Hetty Feather cameo.

I honestly thing a younger me would have devoured this book, and enjoyed it. As I am, I feel it was kind of flat. I really wanted to enjoy this like I did her other works when I was younger.

2 out of 5 stars.

Buy it via Amazon.

Leave a Reply

